Susan Bell Commissioner P.O. Box 110800 Juneau, AK 99811-0800

## STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

www.commerce.alaska.gov

Press Release

COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 29, 2014

No. 14-022

Contact: Joe Jacobson (907)465-2510

joseph.jacobson@alaska.gov

## Newly Reappointed Alaska Minerals Commission to Hold First Meeting October 1 in Fairbanks

The Alaska Minerals Commission (AMC), which makes recommendations to the governor and the Legislature on ways to encourage the development of minerals in the state, will hold the first of its two fall working sessions in Fairbanks on October 1, 2014, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. These working sessions will directly influence the production of the 2015 Alaska Minerals Commission Annual Report, which shall be presented to the legislature and governor during the first 10 days of legislative session. Public testimony will be taken from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and interested parties are encouraged to participate. For meeting information in Fairbanks and Anchorage, please see:

http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/Notices/View.aspx?id=173246.

The AMC was scheduled to sunset on February 1, 2014 but was reauthorized by the 28<sup>th</sup> Legislature through 2024. Governor Parnell subsequently appointed Gary Reiner and reappointed Bartly Kleven, Larry Westlake, Sr., Karl Hanneman, and William Jeffress to the AMC on January 31, 2014.

"The Speaker of the House, Senate President, and Governor Parnell did a great job in appointing members to the Commission that have the necessary mineral industry experience and expertise," said Bill Jeffress, AMC Chair. "The combination of newly appointed and re-appointed members will enable the AMC to continue to champion policies that will support the robust growth of Alaska's minerals sector."

The 11 Commissioners appointed, with January term expiration in parentheses, are: Jerome I. Birch (2015); Bartly Kleven (2015); Lance D. Miller(2015); Anna Atchison (2016); William (Bill) R. Jeffress (2016); Gary K. Reimer (2016); Rob M. Retherford (2016); Larry Westlake, Sr. (2016); Gregory A. Beischer (2017); Karl L. Hanneman (2017); and, Stephen T. Trimble (2017).

The AMC is supported by the Division of Economic Development within the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development. For more information about the AMC, including past Annual Reports, please visit <a href="http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/ded/DEV/MineralsDevelopment/AlaskaMineralsCommission.aspx">http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/ded/DEV/MineralsDevelopment/AlaskaMineralsCommission.aspx</a> or contact Joe Jacobson at joseph.jacobson@alaska.gov.